Interprovincial travel in Thailand 2021

Since the recent surge in Covid-19 cases, the Thai government has greenlit provincial administrations to implement safety measures they deem appropriate. 

Thus, 47 provinces that have implemented a 14-day quarantine for travelers from Thailand’s “red zones”. 

Covid-19 test required for Phuket

Phuket is amongst one of the high-risk areas; travelers will need to register their information details on the Mor Chana App or Go Phuket in order to enter the province. 

Phuket Governor Mr. Narong Woonciew also announced further measures for interprovincial travelers that will come into effect on 21st April 2021. 

47 Thai Provinces Require Those Coming From ‘Red Zones’ To Undergo Quarantine

Infographics of restrictions published by NNT
Image credit: NNT- National News Bureau of Thailand

The restrictions are slightly different for those entering Phuket by air and by land, shared The Thaiger.

Air travelers

  • Provide a Covid-19 test showing negative results that were taken no more than 72 hours prior to travel
  • Submit to a Rapid Covid-19 test at the airport that costs ฿300 (~USD10) 

Land travelers

  • Travelers coming from high-risk or ‘red zone’ areas are required to submit a negative Covid-19 test taken no more than 72 hours prior to traveling. 
  • Those who are from the orange zones aren’t required to submit any documents until further announcements.

Interprovincial travel in Thailand to pause 

According to NNT, there are 47 provinces that require travelers from other regions in Thailand to undergo a 14-day quarantine.

List of 47 provinces that require quarantine:

Northern provinces:

  1. Kamphaeng Phet
  2. Chiang Mai
  3. Tak 
  4. Nan 
  5. Phayao
  6. Phetchabun
  7. Phrae
  8. Lamphun
  9. Uthai Thani
  10. Nakhon Sawan
  11. Uttaradit
  12. Phitsanulok
  13. Phichit
  14. Sukhothai 
  15. Lampang

Central and eastern provinces:

  1. Chainat
  2. Saraburi 
  3. Singburi 
  4. Lopburi
  5. Nakhon Nayok

Northeastern provinces:

  1. Chaiyaphum
  2. Nakhon Phanom
  3. Bueng Kan
  4. Buri Ram
  5. Maha Sarakham
  6. Mukdahan
  7. Yasothon
  8. Sakon Nakhon
  9. Nong Khai
  10. Nong Bua Lamphu
  11. Amnat Charoen
  12. Udon Thani
  13. Khon Kaen
  14. Ubon Ratchathani
  15. Surin

Southern Provinces:

  1. Chumphon
  2. Trang
  3. Narathiwat
  4. Pattani
  5. Phang Nga
  6. Songkhla
  7. Satun
  8. Ranong
  9. Nakhon Si Thammarat
  10. Krabi
  11. Surat Thani 
  12. Phatthalung

Travel only when it’s necessary 

The current Covid-19 situation demands that we continue to take utmost precaution and travel only when it’s absolutely necessary. Short-term delays can lead to better long-term results, which means halting travel can reduce infection cases.

Recent Covid-19 updates:

Cover image adapted from: Travel Online 

Enjoying The Smart Local Thailand? Follow us on Facebook and Instagram for more stories like this.