Menu

Latest Reviews

21369 results - showing 1 - 20  
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »  
Ordering 
 
Appearance 
 
0.5
Charisma 
 
0.5
Ability 
 
0.5
Likability 
 
0.5
Overall Score 
 
0.5
thetypicalsggirl Reviewed by thetypicalsggirl on April 04, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Filled with unethical sellers - not recommended!"

Regular Shopee buyer here. Sick of their unethical sellers and the platform itself. Detailed review here: https://livingthesglife.blogspot.sg/2018/03/review-on-shopee-its-unethical-sellers.html

Would encourage to boycott Shopee as they protect their sellers a lot. If you face any problem, they'll just tell you to report but with no actions done. Unethical sellers are still allowed to sell without facing any punishment. Lots of counterfeits there too - gotta be extremely careful as 99% of counterfeit sellers market their items as authentic products.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
2.5
Quality 
 
1.5
Overall Rating 
 
1.5
Kimilinn88 Reviewed by Kimilinn88 on April 01, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Rude staff cashier "

The one i frequent was at North point Yishun and the things there r cheap but not all is $1 some can be more depending but quality is not that good n snacks is same price as supermarket but not so crunchy
..But quality is not that good n stationery and shampoo quality is not that good but the worst as the service of the staff cashier very rude .The lady with short hair quite plump at the cashier she ask me to empty the blue basket myself i was shocked as this is the staff job and she argued with me .The auntie with glasses working there also very rude always show a black face refused to give extra bag even i bought many things there .They dont cherish regular .
.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
0.5
Service 
 
0.5
Quality 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Overall Rating 
 
0.5
Humbleb Reviewed by Humbleb on March 28, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Horrible Experience!"

I had visited Jean Yip Junction 8 branch in 2016 and signed up for a package costing $3000 which I had regretted since the second visit back to the salon.

Since the second visit onward, every visit to Jean Yip is a nightmare. The results were not satisfactory at all. My hair was still frizzy and fluffy after rebonding sessions. When I feedback to them, they told me it was because my hair was dry and damaged, so they kept pestering me to pay on top of my package to do hair treatment. After listening to them and paying more money, my hair was back to usual look after wash. Besides, they continuously pester me to sign up for more packages on top of the one that I was stuck with. I had to endure the whole few hours there and hoping the service end soon so that I can escape.

I never had such torturing and unsatisfied hairdressing experiences in my life before!

The worst happened recently when I went for my rebonding. On the next day after I washed my hair, I had a shock of my life when it was dried! One side of my hair looked damaged and frizzle while the other side was like normal rebonded hair. The bunch of hair protracted about one centimeter above the surface of the normal rebonded hair. No matter how I combed it, It didn't settle down like the rest.

I wrote in to Jean Yip with photos of my hair to request for refund of my remaining package. I totally lost confidence in Jean Yip and dread going back to them anymore. The management called me and asked me to go back to Junction 8 branch for remedies. As for my request of refund, she said the previous sessions that I had done with them need to be recalculated as the price listed at their store front (instead of the package's discounted price) and then pro rate to me the balance! I couldn't believe my ears. I didn't even ask for compensation for the damage on my hair and now I'm penalised for their mistake if I wish to get back my remaining unused money. Not to mention the additional time spent and further damage through more chemicals on my hair during the remedy.

She said the terms and conditions for refund are written on the receipts that they issued. I told her I was not informed of this when I signed on the receipt as I paid $3000 for my package. She said this is their practice and procedures for refunds. I questioned her on the fairness on me as a victim and she kept saying "this is the practice in the industry as other companies are doing the same".

I totally regretted signing up for the package. I think they are only interested in getting more people to sign up for packages and not keeping customers with them in the long term. I wonder how far they can go if they are not sincere in providing quality customer service in this service industry.




Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Experience 
 
0.5
NAMD Reviewed by NAMD on March 28, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Terrible & Disgusting Experience"

If There was rating for Zero, I will put Zero for the terrible experience I receive at Amore Fitness at Tampines One. I joined membership there & not long after the staff there keeps hounding me to renew my membership even though its Long way from due. Let me highlight there is a difference between reminder & harassment. Harassment is chasing after you a EVERY damn week & multiple times within same week.
2nd experience convince me not to ever rejoin Amore again. Because of insult I received from the Staff at Amore tampines One. Without verifying incident, I was accused of not returning the towels there. They even called my hp to accuse me of such petty issue! Its left me completely disgusted & angry because they didnt verify the issue & had wrongly accuse me. No apologise even. I have written in to their HQ, I truly regret joining. There is True Fitness/ Fitness First nearby. No lost to abandon this lousy service at Amore.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
0.5
Service 
 
0.5
Quality 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Overall Rating 
 
0.5
Karleenlim Reviewed by Karleenlim on March 21, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Bad service"

Paid for items but did not receive it after a few months with constant phone calls to their office.
Did not follow up with enquires and we as consumers have to bump them regarding our orders.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
0.5
Service 
 
0.5
Quality 
 
2.0
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Overall Rating 
 
0.5
briannadegaston Reviewed by briannadegaston on March 19, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Greedy Company with unfair policies"

I have been to Flutters twice and these experiences were quite positive at first, I even went out of my way to give them a positive review on my social media. However I recently wanted to get a eyelash refill (after it only lasted two weeks)
They refused to schedule another refill appointment unless I paid the full price for a whole new set. I checked their website many times and NO WHERE does it say that their policy is to charge the full amount after only one refill.

The customer service and handling of this has been very poor. I have looked through the entire website and store and there is absolutely no mention of this even after I emailed them. If I knew this upfront I would never have come here in the first place as it’s unfair to not only charge the price for a full set every other appointment but to ALSO charge an extra $10 each time for the removal of their own eyelashes.

I have been getting my eyelashes done for 4 years now so I was willing to pay a little more than the average salon for better quality, but didn’t expect this deceptive practice. If it was at least explained or the information available upfront so that people are aware. I can’t be the only one to have had this problem.

My conclusion is don’t come here unless you’re willing to pay for a full set every other appointment which by the way is much more expensive than most salons in Singapore. The quality and service are their eyelashes seemed to be good but I’ve had better quality before that lasted for much longer than 3 weeks unlike Flutters that only lasted for 2 weeks.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Food / Beverage 
 
4.5
Ambience 
 
3.0
Service 
 
4.5
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Score 
 
4.0
mamarzipanini Reviewed by mamarzipanini on March 12, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Comfort at its best."

I have never had authentic Pu Tien cuisine before, thus I am unable to compare the quality of the food served here and in the country of its origin. However, I've patronized this restaurant at least 4 times in a month, and for more reasons than one.

I brought my friend to Xing Hua as the weather felt suitable to have a comforting soupy meal (not much of a soup person, but this eatery came to mind when I was contemplating on the soup idea). I went in to order their Braised Lor Mee ($6, pictured), and asked for the noodles to be slightly undercooked preferably. I made the request confidently, as this restaurant is one of the restaurants with the warmest service ever. The ladies sure give warm smiles! The lady whom I ordered the noodles from went to the kitchen personally to instruct the chef, and another lady proceeded to scoop two kinds of chili for me. I offered to take the condiments out but she insisted that I went to sit first instead.. with a sweet smile.

Within 7 to 8 minutes, the bowl of goodness came. After snapping a quick picture, I immediately took a bite at my noodles - perfect underdone chew. The bowl of broth-infused noodles were a pleasure to devour, and the sourness of the chili gave a tinge of ! with every mouthful. The prawns were fresh and succulent as well, and before I knew it, the short-lived happiness was over.

I would certainly recommend this dish for first-timers; it's their signature! Their Fried Mee Sua ($5.50) is also great and generous and the portion is reasonable for the price. The Fried Bee Hoon ($5.50), although unique in texture, was a tad oily, possibly in an attempt to hold the dish together. Be sure to try their other dishes as well if you are going in groups! There are a variety of dishes to choose from.

Go to this Individual Review Page
_20180312_113626.JPG
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
1.0
Service 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
1.0
Overall Rating 
 
1.0
Vahbiz Reviewed by Vahbiz on March 10, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Ruined my daughter’s SAT examination and mentally impacted her"

My sister went here to take her SAT examination. She was not only disrespected and bullied by invigilators, but her exam was ruined as she had taken under great mental stress and she is traumatized. Do not go here for SAT unless you want your child’s mental health impacted.

Would have rated a 0 on everything but cant rate below a 1 which they dont deserve!

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
4.5
Service 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Satisfaction 
 
5.0
Overall Rating 
 
5.0
tchinhock Reviewed by tchinhock on March 09, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Holistic Learning Experience"

Learning Point is a great place to send your child for enrichment programmes. Specialising in English, this centre has an established track record and experienced teachers. They go the extra mile while marking, especially the compositions! 100% would recommend, especially the English programme.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
5.0
Service 
 
4.5
Quality 
 
5.0
Satisfaction 
 
4.5
Overall Rating 
 
4.5
TJL500 Reviewed by TJL500 on February 23, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Amazing prices, great service"

Buying at courts was so worth it! Bought a bunch of items from their webstore for a great price as they have sales nearly all the time. Delivery was swift and I got all the items delivered as well. I cant believe courts has so many negative reviews despite being so good, sort of sad how many people are missing out on all these sales. After that, I visited a physical store and the customer service there was great, my eyes nearly popped out when I saw all the promotions, some of them were even cheaper than amazon.
Would recommend.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
0.5
Service 
 
0.5
Quality 
 
0.5
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Overall Rating 
 
0.5
thehonestreview Reviewed by thehonestreview on February 18, 2018

Top 750 Contributor - First Review -

"Avoid at all costs!"

What a terrible terrible business. Ordered a shoe cabinet, together with matching coffee table and chairs.
The chairs arrived with legs that were slanted! We requested for a change twice and the results were the same. The chairs did not even last 2 years before the synthetic leather started peeling and mind you they were not placed under direct sunlight.
What can I say about the shoe cabinet, does simply cant shut properly, we had to use wires to tie them up properly.
such an unethical business should be avoided at all costs!

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
1.0
Service 
 
2.5
Quality 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
1.0
Overall Rating 
 
0.5
shaneyeo123 Reviewed by shaneyeo123 on February 18, 2018

Top 1000 Contributor - First Review -

"Waste my time and money"

Overall, it was a bad learning experience for me. First of all, you are required to take theory lessons which are honestly useless for me, I could just read up the theory in the highway code handbook. Secondly, to book your Basic or Final theory tests, you first have to pass an evaluation test, which is basically a mock test..... I failed the Final theory evaluation twice and decided to give up as some questions asked in the evaluation aren't even in the highway code. In the end, I withdrew and took lessons from a private instructor instead and passed my TP within 2 months on the first try. If I had not switched to private, I will probably still be stuck in BBDC.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Value 
 
2.5
Service 
 
0.5
Quality 
 
1.0
Satisfaction 
 
0.5
Overall Rating 
 
0.5
100 stars above me Reviewed by 100 stars above me on February 13, 2018

Top 1000 Contributor - First Review -

"Bad experience"

Perhaps things have gone for the worst since the great review from Bryan Choo in 2013.

I had a weird experience yesterday and honestly I felt slightly harassed.

Firstly, when I went to the counter to get a slot, the man (in his 60's) just gave me a paper that wrote '4:45pm'. No words spoken, and I thought he couldn't speak (which he can after I finished my session).

I went for a 40 mins foot reflexology session yesterday (12 Feb) at 4:45pm. The masseur attended to me spoke almost no words, just told me to pull up my jeans. Okie, this is when the weird shit starts. He put a lot of cream on my left feet and starts to massage, but barely massage, more of touching my feet. I told him to apply more pressure, but he did not comply.

Again more superficial act of spreading cream on my feet. I would expect real tui na but he was really just going through the action. Spreading cream around my toes. At this point I almost lost it. I was fuming. I wanted to leave. This is wasting my time because I don't pay for a guy to play with my feet. What makes it more uncomfortable was another masseuse behind was leering at me 80% of the time while massaging the back of another person. What's up with the employees at this place? I felt uncomfortable as a woman visiting a foot reflexology centre when male masseurs do not respect female customers and conduct themselves professionally. I have visited a few foot reflexology centers but I've never felt more disrespected and certainly, harassed.

After the session ended, I went to the counter to complain and this man just pointed a paper on the wall written in Japanese language. He says that means I can choose my own masseur and it was like my fault that I don't tell him which masseur I want. Uncle, I don't speak Japanese and why did you not have your notes in English? He gave me a $2 off for the bad experience, but it was not enough for me to not write this review. I love the price but would not return again for unprofessional service and leering masseurs.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Score 
 
4.0
Jessica Ong Reviewed by Jessica Ong on February 06, 2018

Top 500 Contributor - View all 8 reviews -
TSL Articles

"Cosy local cafe"

During my schooling days, whenever I was craving for some good ol’ home cooked food, Curry Wok would be the place to visit.

Set up by a local couple in a small shop along Coronation Road, it always felt cosy and welcoming. Even up till today, I’ll occasionally miss the place and pop by if I am around the neighbourhood.

My standard order was the Jumbo Pork Chop set ($8), which consists of crispy pork chop, their signature curry chicken, chap chye, rice, and lime juice. A secret tip for anyone ordering the set - don’t feel restricted if you don’t like one of the dishes, as you can customise what you want from the other sets as well!

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Rating 
 
3.5
Jessica Ong Reviewed by Jessica Ong on February 06, 2018

Top 500 Contributor - View all 8 reviews -
TSL Articles

"Fun edgy clothes"

A blogshop based in Singapore, A For Arcade is amongst the better quality and more trustworthy few. With its own house brand and designs, I would describe the fashion style of its apparel as fun, colourful, edgy and cool.

I ordered a dress from them before, and the quality was unmatched, although this also means that the price is slightly above that of other local blogshops. The material turned out to feel a tad heavier than I had expected, so be sure to check the product description carefully.

Overall, a great website design that makes scrolling through their collection a breeze. Worth checking out!

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Score 
 
4.0
Jessica Ong Reviewed by Jessica Ong on February 06, 2018

Top 500 Contributor - View all 8 reviews -
TSL Articles

"Salmon sashimi @ only $3!"

The first thing you need to know about Standing Sushi Bar - it is not a standing bar. A small space beside the Singapore Art Museum on Queen Street, the only inkling of a standing concept that I get from the restaurant is the long queue that you’ll need to stand in while waiting for a seat. But it is well worth the wait.

Despite the not-so-pleasant waiting experience, the long queues exist for a legit reason. Standing Sushi Bar is famous for their daily promotions, but the more valuable one is undoubtedly their crazy salmon sashimi promo on Monday and Thursday. At just $3, you can enjoy five thick and quality slices of salmon sashimi. No sane person will miss out on a deal like that. What’s more, if you order more than 30 slices, you will be rewarded with 5 FATTY salmon sashimi as part of the order. With super cheap drinks like $2 sake and $5 beer, who can complain?

My only qualm if any would be the service. The waitresses tend to rush customers into ordering and will be impatient if you take too long deciding on your choice. Like a fast-paced Hong Kong cha chaan teng, don’t go there if you are expecting friendly service or a slow meal.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Score 
 
3.5
Jessica Ong Reviewed by Jessica Ong on February 06, 2018

Top 500 Contributor - View all 8 reviews -
TSL Articles

"Growing crowds and mediocre line-up"

I’m a huge fan of St Jerome’s Laneway Festival, which expanded into Singapore in 2011, bringing the live music festival scene to our small shores. So trust me when I say it pains me that the standard of the festival has reached a plateau or may even be going downhill.

It started out amazing. With the inaugural Laneway Festival held at Fort Canning Park, it felt nothing short of authentic - a passionate audience and an impeccable line-up with the likes of Foals, Warpaint, Beach House, Two Door Cinema Club, and Yeasayer. Yet, just a few years since moving to the larger-scale Gardens by the Bay, the line-up has been growing in number but reduced to a few headliners and… well, other smaller acts. Also, the venue has become so packed that it feels rather stifling.

No doubt, it’s still a fun way to spend the weekend and has a chill atmosphere to enjoy new music. While many continue heading to the bayfront annually to check out new acts, with similar festivals starting to pop up in Singapore, Laneway must up their game to maintain a loyal base of followers. And I’m rooting for them not to let us down!

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Score 
 
4.0
Jessica Ong Reviewed by Jessica Ong on February 06, 2018

Top 500 Contributor - View all 8 reviews -
TSL Articles

"Affordable Thai food with a rustic atmosphere"

With each branch designed to have a charm of its own, Folks Collective at China Square Central prides itself as “the vintage shophouse” - and I utterly loved it. With a name that reflects all things indie and hipster, the decor does the same. Think vintage scooters, brick walls and sky blue walls. And yet it is designed so well that it doesn’t feel overdone and you just feel warm and cozy inside.

Beyond its atmosphere, the restaurant welcomes swarms of office workers due to its affordable weekday set lunches and daily specials served from 11am - 3pm, and deservingly so. During my visit, I tried the Set B featuring their Mini Street Omelette, Green Chicken Curry and Steamed Jasmine Rice ($10.90). While served in atypical red porcelain dishes, the taste felt authentically Thai, with good a balance between spice and flavour. Not the best, but pretty decent.

My only qualm would be that the serving size is not big. But this problem can be easily solved with a side of Folks Drumlets ($6.90) or a sweet Honey Mango ($7.90) to end the meal.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Score 
 
2.5
Jessica Ong Reviewed by Jessica Ong on February 06, 2018

Top 500 Contributor - View all 8 reviews -
TSL Articles

"Quirky theme, average food"

I love The Beatles. And I love cheesesteaks. So when I heard that there was a local cafe and bistro called “Yellow Submarines” serving up Philadelphia Cheesesteaks, I was instantly attracted to its fun and quirky theme, and made a visit to their Toa Payoh branch. With bright yellow walls and funky designs to match the submarine theme, it brought back the kid in me, brimming with excitement as I imagined myself being immersed underwater in a yellow submarine

Having ordered the Philly Submarine set ($9.90) off from the Yellow Submarines Classics menu, which came with thick-cut cheese fries and a drink, I was disappointed. The cheesesteaks were tiny and dry, while the cheese on the fries could be compared to those you get from 7-11. Overall, I must say the food was average, serving was small and not worth the price.

Another thing to note is that while the cafe atmosphere and menu designs were unique, it did feel a little more like a fast food restaurant than a cafe, which wasn’t what I had in mind.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

Overall Score 
 
4.0
Jessica Ong Reviewed by Jessica Ong on February 06, 2018

Top 500 Contributor - View all 8 reviews -
TSL Articles

"Best truffle fries"

Situated in the Kampong Glam district, Symmetry remains one of the most authentic cafes serving quality brunch food in Singapore. It’s easy to miss this tiny corner shophouse, but once found, you will discover that it has a unique vibe that perfectly combines queer and retro. From a skeleton couple seated right beside the entrance to brick walls and pop art filling the interior, this cafe is cosy yet one-of-a-kind.

But the best part about Symmetry is none other than its famed truffle fries ($14) that lives up to its name. Served up in a bucket, the shoestring potato fries burst with the aroma of truffle paired with generous parmesan cheese shavings that will engulf your tastebuds.

Other notable favourites are the Truffle Eggs Mushroom ($21), Symmetry Eggs Benedict ($20) and Big Breakfast ($24). Despite being crowded on the weekends and pricey (don’t forget GST and service charge), this cafe has a quaint charm that will keep me coming back for more.

Go to this Individual Review Page
Was this review helpful to you? 

21369 results - showing 1 - 20  
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »